Lee Hosts Constitution Bowl Winners in Washington, DC

February 15, 2013


Mike Lee hosted the winners of the 2012 Constitution Bowl in Washington, DC this week. The Cottonwood Heights teens won the opportunity to visit and tour our nation’s capitol when they proved their firm understanding of the U.S. Constitution in a competition with three other Utah teams in September.

“It was an honor to have the Cottonwood Heights team in Washington, DC this week,” said Senator Lee. “This group showed their knowledge and interest for our country’s founding document during the Constitution Bowl last fall, so it was exciting to have them here exploring and experiencing the rich history of our nation’s capital.”

Team members Kevin Liu, Monica Kowalski, Morgan Valentine, Haley Roberts, and Steven Deng enjoyed a night tour of the national monuments; toured the U.S.Capitol building and dome, Library of Congress, and White House; and watched Senator Lee deliver a speech on the Senate floor.  

"Coming to DC has been an amazing opportunity, and to come and see everything that this great city has to offer is more than any of us deserved,” said Valentine, PR officer for the Cottonwood Heights Youth City Council. “We only wish we had more time to spend sight-seeing and getting to speak with Senator Lee. I know I speak for everyone when I say that this will definitely not be the only time we come to DC."

Senator Lee teamed up with the Utah League of Cities and Towns in September and launched the inaugural “Constitution Bowl,” testing the knowledge of teams from four local high schools on topics related to the U.S. Constitution as well as state and local government. The event was held in honor of the 225th Anniversary of the U.S. Constitution and to get students talking about the country’s founding document.  

Students from Taylorsville, Cottonwood Heights, North Salt Lake, and West Point competed in the Jeopardy-style game in teams of four, with Senator Mike Lee, Speaker of the House Becky Lockhart, and Murray Mayor Dan Snarr delivering the clues.  

PHOTO ATTACHED: From left to right—Kevin Liu, Monica Kowalski, Senator Mike Lee, Morgan Valentine, Haley Roberts, and Steven Deng.

Constitution Bowl Winners